The Ministers’ Retirement Fund was established in February of 1974 for the purpose of providing a place for ministers to invest finances for their future retirement years. Reverend M. J. Wolff served as the first chairman of the Executive Committee and served until April, 1978. The General Board appointed Reverend James H. Simison to serve as Chairman in 1978 and he served until 1999. Reverend G. R. Travis was then appointed and served as Chairman until 2006. Reverend B. J. Thomas is presently serving as Chairman of the Ministers Retirement Fund Board of Trustees.

Reverend David J. Wheeler, Stewardship Director of the United Pentecostal Church, served as the MRF secretary from 1974 to 1983.

One of the first members of the Ministers’ Retirement Fund in 1975 was Reverend T. M. Jackson, then pastor in Cutler, Illinois. Reverend Jackson served as the Secretary of the MRF Board of Trustees for 30 years, from 1986 to 2016. Reverend Aubrey L. Jayroe is presently serving as Secretary.

Effective July 1, 2008, a new 403(b)(9) Church Plan was adopted to allow for participant selection of investments and greater flexibility in terms of how a church and/or a minister can participate in the MRF.